India vs Netherlands, T20 WC 2022: Predict likely Men in Blue XI for crucial tie


The Indian team began their edition of the T20 World Cup 2022 with a memorable win over arch-rivals Pakistan at the iconic MCG in Melbourne on Sunday, October 23. After winning the coin toss and opting to play first, India rode three irons from Arshdeep Singh and versatile Hardik Pandya to limit Pakistan to 159 for 8.

In response, India faltered 31-4, losing skipper Rohit Sharma (4) and vice-captain KL Rahul on the cheap. However, Virat Kohli produced a masterclass, 82 off 53 balls, and was well supported by Hardik (40) to send India over the finish line through a four from the blade by R Ashwin on the last ball of the contest. Now the action switches to the showdown with the Netherlands as India look to keep their winning streak alive.

India will face the Dutch outfit at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Sydney. This will be the first meeting between the two teams in the format. So far, India have faced the Netherlands twice in the ODI World Cup – in 2003 and 2011. Hence, a new challenge will be given to the Indian team when they face the Dutch outfit .

READ ALSO | T20 World Cup 2022, India vs Netherlands, live cricket streaming: when and where to watch an epic showdown?

Given that Ireland surprised 2010 winners England on Wednesday 26 October, India will not take the Netherlands lightly. Having no experience of their game in the format, India will start cautiously before trying to explode. Depending on the conditions, a second-hand pitch will be offered for the Indo-Dutch encounter, given that it is the second meeting of the day (after South Africa against Bangladesh). We can expect a similar pitch as it was in the Super 12 opener with Australia and New Zealand, but with less bounce. So slower bowlers can come and play. Throwing will be crucial and captains can look to bat first, on a surface that may become slower. However, with the rain forecast, bowling is also an option.

Predicting India’s XI for the Netherlands showdown: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Arshdeep Singh


Comments are closed.