Euro 2024 qualifiers: England draw with Italy; Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland discover groups


England were drawn in the same group as Italy – the team that beat them in the Euro 2020 final – in Euro 2024 qualifying in Germany.

Ukraine, North Macedonia and Malta are the other teams in Group C.

Scotland will be in Group A with Spain, Norway, Georgia and Cyprus.

Wales will face Croatia, Armenia, Turkey and Latvia in Group D, while Northern Ireland will be joined by Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan and San Marino in Group D. H.

The Republic of Ireland face a tough task as they are in Group B alongside the Netherlands and France, as well as Greece and Gibraltar.

In the draw in Frankfurt there were gasps as England were pulled out to face Italy, with the Azzurri beating Gareth Southgate’s side on penalties at Wembley to win the European Cup final. Euro 2020.

Italy will also face North Macedonia, who beat Roberto Mancini’s side in the 2022 World Cup play-offs in March.

Scotland have qualified for three European Championships – in 1992 and 1996, and for Euro 2020, which was delayed for a year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

They are guaranteed at least a play-off spot after finishing top of their Nations League group and being promoted to the top tier of this competition.

Scotland’s game against Norway will see them face in-form Manchester City striker Erling Haaland.

Wales made their European Championship final debut in 2016 when they reached the semi-finals.

Northern Ireland were the only country not to qualify for Euro 2020, with their only final appearance coming in 2016.

How it works?

There are seven groups with five countries – and three groups with six teams. The four Nations League finalists – Croatia, the Netherlands, Italy and Spain – entered the small groups.

The top two teams from each of the 10 groups qualify directly for Euro 2024.

Germany automatically qualify as hosts, while the remaining three teams will go through the Nations League play-offs.

Groups start March 23 and end November 21, 2023.

The entire groups

Group A: Spain, Scotland, Norway, Georgia, Cyprus

Group B: Netherlands, France, Republic of Ireland, Greece, Gibraltar

Group C: Italy, England, Ukraine, North Macedonia, Malta

Group D: Croatia, Wales, Armenia, Turkey, Latvia

Group E: Poland, Czech Republic, Albania, Faroe Islands, Moldova

Group F: Belgium, Austria, Sweden, Azerbaijan, Estonia

Group G: Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro, Bulgaria, Lithuania

Group H: Denmark, Finland, Slovenia, Kazakhstan, North Ireland, San Marino

Group I: Swiss. Israel, Romania, Kosovo, Belarus, Andorra

Group J: Portugal, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Iceland, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Liechtenstein

More soon.


Comments are closed.